Spotlight on Father & Sons Beard Co.

During my absence I was in need of product to keep my long flowing facial locks healthy.  Enter Father & Sons Beard Co., like a hirsute hero from the heavens, to save the next several weeks.

I stole this from their page

I stole this from their page

While I was away I had an opportunity to spend a significant amount of time using some Father & Sons products, specifically the River City Beard Balm, the Classic – Unscented Beard Balm and the Pine Tar Shampoo.  Since I was certain I wouldn’t have the opportunity to trim as often as I’d wish these items were a great selection for keeping things tidy.  Let’s look at the Beard Balm:

River City & Classic Unscented Beard Balm

These are both conditioning beard balms with an exceptional list of oils.  In no particular order they are: Grapeseed Oil, Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Argan Oil, Pumpkin Seed Oil, Castor Oil, Avocado Oil, Jojoba Oil, Safflower Oil, Hempseed Oil, Sweet Almond Oil, Camellia Oil, Macadamia Nut Oil, Emu Oil…Wow!  This is all held together with some butters/waxes that I don’t have the names of.

The waxy/buttery suspension will add enough weight and very very light hold to keep the stray hairs together for a while but things will soon get poofy (my term for what happens when my beard begins to creep like a face wisteria).  These aren’t designed to be styling products so this is expected (the “no-hold” part, not the “beard looking like a plant part”…the hardest part is keeping the birds from nesting in it).

wisteria-beard

This is a wisteria. My beard isn’t purple.

Scent-wise I was happily surprised with River City.  It’s a very complex and warm scent.  I pulled out some patchouli and cedarwood from it.  The part that surprised me was the botanical list for the scent included ylang ylang.  I don’t have anything nice to say about ylang ylang but I do have some really funny negative things I could say…however my therapist told me to be less negative so I’ll just chuckle to myself and squeeze my stress ball.  Anyway, I think I might have noticed the slightest hint of ylang ylang that really worked to add more depth to this scent.  I didn’t have the opportunity to try the other two scents so my recommendation here lacks weight but I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend River City if you’re looking for a scented product.

The unscented is unscented.  You’ll get the smell of the waxes/butters but it won’t be competing with anything else you’re wearing.  Unlike some other unscented beard balms the smell of the butters/waxes is very light and won’t step on any personal scents you’re wearing.  I personally prefer unscented products for this reason.  I have a couple of scents that I wear and I don’t really need my grooming products competing for that nose space.

Now the part you’ve all been waiting for, the taste!…I didn’t taste it.

Finally, conditioning.  When I started using their beard balm I felt it was a good quality product but I didn’t find anything to make it stand out among the crowd.  However since I had no other options to choose from I just kept using it.  I was glad I did though because over time my beard seemed to take on a nice shine and just felt a little healthier/softer.  Now I see on their webpage that they recommend using it for 90 days to get the most noticeable effect.  Honestly I don’t do anything for 90 days straight.  Just look at my spotty posting history.  I used it frequently for about 6 weeks and was happy with the results and wasn’t running out of product.  I could see you easily getting 90 days out of tin.

I feel Father & Sons Beard Balms have set the high water mark for beard balms and is my go to product for days when I don’t need hold.  Even on the days I do need hold I will use the beard balm after a shower (as you should be doing anyway).

Highly Recommended.

Available on their page: http://www.father-n-sons.com/
and on Etsy: https://www.etsy.com/shop/fatherandsonsbeardco

 

Leave a Reply

