Beard Shampoo. Is it for you?

I get tons of questions in the piles and piles of mail I get and trust me, those piles of mail: totally giant.  Imagine the amount of mail Santa Claus gets around the holidays and that’s one day for me…yup…pretending is fun.  One of the most frequently asked question is, “Why do you bother doing this?” followed closely by, “No, really, why?”  but somewhere on that list I imagine there’s someone asking what I recommend you use to clean your scruffy mug.  So I’m going to tell you.

I can tell you that, for me, body soaps and hair shampoos leave the hairs on my chinny chin chin dried out and the skin underneath itchy.  I use beard oil afterwards in my beard and moustache but it felt like I was trying to undo what the washing did as opposed to maintaining it.  I figured it was time to try out some facial hair specific shampoos and conditioners.

Facial hair shampoo is not a new thing.  I recall Bluebeards OriginalDaily Beard Wash” being available on my first attempt to grow out my beard a few years ago.  That product looks like it has since been replaced but something else but the point is made.  They’re not new.  The two beard shampoos and conditioners I did try are:

Yep, those are the names.  I don’t judge though, if I was allowed to be around live animals anymore I would have a dog and I would name it “Chicken Leg” so…there ya go.

This is what I imagine Chicken Leg would look like

This is what I imagine “Chicken Leg” would look like

I used both the shampoo followed by the conditioner so I have no data if one works well without the other.  They both did a noticeably better job of keeping my beard from drying out than regular shampoo and conditioner.  Both products are scented but the scent doesn’t stay so you won’t be using this as beard deodorant…however since your shampooing your beard I’m hoping it’s not going to need a deodorant…ewww.  Beardition has a kind of pleasant cologne scent.  Beardsley comes in two scents, Wild Berry and Cantaloupe.  Wild Berry reminded me a lot of lip gloss and even had a sweet taste (please don’t eat shampoo or conditioner).  Beardition left my beard feeling a little softer immediately after a shower but within a few minutes it was the same as Beardsley.

I recommend using a shampoo and conditioner formulated for your facial hair because they’re gentler than standard hair products but it’s important to go in with the right expectations.  These products are not going to magically give you a soft, shiny, full beard and washing your beard and moustache too frequently will still wash away the oils that keep your hair from getting brittle in the first place.  In a nutshell, don’t wash it too frequently but when you do use something gentle enough for your face.

For the best results you’re going to want to couple this with a strong leave-in conditioner or beard oil.  Those are a topics for another post though.

Keep on bearding!

11 comments on “Beard Shampoo. Is it for you?

  1. hirsuteforhappiness says:

    Love your writing sir, I’m looking for a good beard washer, that is a product not a small man to wash for me, though maybe……

    Glanton are back with us

    • hirsuteforhappiness says:

      I meant glad you are back!

      • Hi Stu! Thanks for the welcome back. I’m glad to be writing again.
        Your blog looks as great as your moustache!

      • hirsuteforhappiness says:

        Why thank you sir! Unless you think they both look awful hahaha. I have a few things in the pipeline too but I’m glad you are back writing, I’ve recommended your writing to a number of people 😉

    • camil saad says:

      There is an all natural beard shampoo and face wash called Abraham’s Beard Shampoo. It is Paraben free and its not tested on animals. It treats acne, dandruff, irritation, razor burn, and in grown hairs, while leaving your beard clean and soft. its at http://www.abshampoo.com you can also find it by searching beard shampoo on googe, its on the 4th page.

      • Thanks for the heads up on this, Camil.
        An interesting observation is while I was at the World Beard and Moustache Championships (No, I didn’t compete. Yes, there are pictures) I used a mild facial cleanser for my beard and moustache and it worked well in a pinch. I think a facial cleanser/ beard wash is a great idea.

  2. Kristin says:

    Thanks so much for giving our products a try and for the kind words. Hope we were able to enhance your beardliness. Cheers! (this is Kristin from Beardition)

  3. Beard shampoo is the best shampoo to use as well as for skin .

  4. […] some reason my article on beard shampoos was popular.  Which just goes to show that one monkey banging on a typewriter will eventually […]

Leave a Reply

