Petal Pusher Fancies Vegan Soy-Free Dandy Candy Moustache Wax

A little over a month ago I introduced you to an excellent moustache wax in Petal Pusher Fancies Vegan Dandy Candy Moustache Wax.  Unfortunately that tin of wax had a terminal encounter with a 90 degree day in sunny California but there’s no time for long goodbyes in the world of handlebars.  Today I have the distinct pleasure to introduce to you, drum roll please, Petal Pusher Fancies Vegan Soy-Free Dandy Candy Moustache Wax!

Vegan AND soy free?!  Amazing!

Vegan AND soy free?! Amazing!

Petal Pusher Fancies, as you know by now, is a fantastic little company in Massachusetts that specializes in soaps, moustache waxes and other fine organic grooming products.  If you haven’t familiarized yourself with their wares I recommend you take some time to look around the site.

Vegan Soy-Free Dandy Candy Moustache Wax comes in a .5 oz slide top tin.  There’s a dark green paper label adorned with the company and product names and two interesting little sunflower people riding penny-farthings.  The label will be familiar to those of you have tried their moustache wax before as the same basic label with different colors and, of course, the appropriate name, to distinguish the products.  The back has a white label with the list of ingredients.

As I mentioned, I already reviewed a vegan moustache wax, how much different can they be?  Pretty darn different.  Vegan Soy-Free Dandy Candy Moustache Wax has candelilla wax as its base.  Candelilla wax is a strong, some say brittle, wax with a melting point significantly higher than bees wax.  Vegan Dandy Candy Moustache Wax has a soy wax base which is a very soft wax and has a melting point significantly higher than bees wax.  Vegan Dandy Candy is a very soft wax with a light hold and good for combed out natural looks, Vegan Soy-Free Dandy Candy is a hard wax that I find excellent for gravity defying curls and a well parted middle.

In the tin you’ll find a very light yellow wax that smells like a spicy bay rum.  The scents listed are bay oil and orange essential oil.  The bay oil is apparent but I expected something cinnamony, the orange threw me.  This is a hard wax so I recommend warming it up a little bit before scraping some out.  Pocket warmth or a little time under a hair dryer is enough.  once you have a little bit out and start kneading it you’ll find that it stays together and picks up warmth quickly.  You’ll probably notice that there’s a nice tackiness which came as a surprise with the candelilla wax, which I find to be a wax that likes to fall apart rather than ball up nicely.

Step 1) Apply wax here Step 2) Look Dandy

Step 1) Apply wax here
Step 2) Look Dandy

When you’re ready to smoosh it and work it into your moustache it will flatten out smoothly and sticks to your moustache with no hassle.  I didn’t experience any dots or flaking and was impressed by how evenly it applied.  I was expecting a lot more pulling of hairs and gnashing of teeth but it was, in fact, quite squishy and easy to apply.  I didn’t comb it through as I didn’t feel it was needed.  I was able to get a nice shape in the middle with my fingers.  When I was happy with the middle I scraped out two more bits for each end to curl.  Getting the hairs together and forming the curls was pretty easy but I did need to add a little more to catch some of those darned crinkle hairs that don’t want to play well with others.

Once I got the hang of how much wax the ends needed, which, as I said, was about about a little more than a BB sized ball for each side.  My curls didn’t give out through the day but I did find that some of those stray crinkle hairs were trying to work their way free.  It was easy to just massage those hairs back into the curl and let it reset.  I have trouble with all waxes keeping that area where your curls meet the body of your moustache from drooping over my lip eventually.  I hesitate to consider this a result of wax and am inclined to say that this is my own inexperience in getting this to work or it could just be how much I flap my jaw at work.  You’ll definitely be smelling this through the day.  I find it nice and not too intrusive but if you prefer an unscented wax keep in mind that this has a scent that lasts but won’t overwhelm you.

Vegan Soy-Free Dandy Candy Moustache Wax is a hard wax that benefits from a little warming but once you’ve scraped a bit out it’s got good malleability and some tackiness that sets firmly.  I found it fairly easy to work stray hairs back in without needing to add more wax and if you do add more wax you’re sure to have those little fiends locked in place for good.  If you’re looking for something stronger than original Dandy Candy then this is for you.  It’ll keep your curls aloft.   If you’re here for the vegan aspect then consider yourself twice blessed because you’ve just found a moustache wax that’s both vegan and an excellent ‘stache stiffener.

You can procure a tin of Vegan Soy-Free Dandy Candy Moustache Wax at Petal Pusher Fancies and on etsy.

Disclosure: I am not associated with Petal Pusher Fancies but I do love their products.  The .5 oz tin of Vegan Soy-Free Dandy Candy Moustache Wax that I used to write this review was generously supplied by the artisans at Petal Pusher Fancies.

Leave a Reply

