Uppercut Deluxe Mo Wax

Uppercut Deluxe Mo Wax is a moustache that was developed by Uppercut Deluxe to celebrate Movember.  Movember is essentially Moustache May in November and vice versa.  Why you need a special month to sport the greatest of all things sportable is beyond me.  You probably know Uppercut Deluxe for its selection of hair products.  You can read my thoughts on their pomade here.

mo-waxMo Wax comes in a 25ml (.85oz) amber glass jar with an aluminum screw top lid.  A black label wraps around about half of the jar.  It displays their red logo with the name Mo Wax and the ingredients.

It has a mature appearance.  Less kitschy than some of the moustache waxes you’ll find around.  It has a peppermint scent which is also a nice change from the standard scents you find in moustache waxes.  It’s listed as “fragrance” and not an essential oil so no telling what it is.

Instinct takes over and I go to scrape some onto my fingernail and my finger squashes into the jar…and there’s a flag on the play.  The consistency was like vaseline.

I don’t normally list ingredients but, in this case, they tell the whole story.  The ingredients are petroleum jelly, microcrystalline wax, lanolin, castor oil then we get beeswax and candelilla wax and finally stearic acid  and steareth-2 (both emulsifiers).  I don’t normally list ingredients but in this case I thought it helped tell a story.  The first 4 or 5 ingredients are common for petroleum based pomade and that’s pretty much what you have here.  A very tiny jar of petroleum based pomade.

Needless to say you won’t need to kneed this (see what I did there?).  You can mush it around between your fingers if you wish but it doesn’t need any warming.  It applies to the moustache very smoothly.  As you might expect from petroleum jelly this product offers a nice shine.  It’s very easy to style and I was able to get the ends to stay together and curl.  Once applied you could feel that there was a little bit of firmness forming

Unfortunately that lasted about an hour.  By that time the ends had frayed, the curls were drooping and the the nice sweep was gone.  The scent stayed pleasantly pepperminty and wasn’t overpowering.

I like Uppercut Deluxe and I wanted to give this another chance.  I have a friend who has a very soft, short haired moustache and I thought it might work better for him than for me and my dense, wiry moustache but he had the same problem.  His ends frayed as well and after an hour or so you couldn’t tell there was any product there.

I’m afraid that as much as I like Uppercut Deluxe Pomade and Uppercut Deluxe as a company I just can’t recommend this product.  The main fault is that there’s just no hold.  Moustache hair is generally thicker and more unruly than head hair and trying to use a hair pomade as moustache wax isn’t going to work to keep it under control.

You can find Uppercut Deluxe Mo Wax at uppercutdeluxe.com and pomade-shop.eu.

Disclosure: I am not associated with Uppercut Deluxe or any of the products or web pages mentioned in this article.  The 254 ml. jar of  Uppercut Deluxe Mo Wax I used to write this article was generously supplied to my by Uppercut Deluxe.

Leave a Reply

