Brooklyn Grooming Commando Beard Oil

Having grown up in a pretty mellow part of New York I like to pretend that I grew up in Brooklyn.  I affect a bad accent and swagger around like a tough guy.  This usually ends with me curled into the fetal position crying, “not in the moustache, not in the moustache!”…ahhh good times.

I’m not sure how I found out about Brooklyn Grooming but here’s my story, an angel with flowing locks, a fantastic beard and dapper ‘tache came to me in a dream and told me to browse to http://www.brooklyngrooming.com, which I did.  Good story, huh?

Apothecaries are cool

Apothecaries are cool

Brooklyn Grooming is Mckenzie Santiago and Alfredo Ortiz.  McKenzie has a good deal of experience in grooming products.  You may recall her from a line she created called, “Pretty Monsters”.  I don’t think you’ll be able to find them on the web anymore which is a real shame because I enjoyed their “Bukowski” lip balm and not just because I like the beat stylings of Mr. Bukowski.  They’re located in, you guessed it, Brooklyn NY and all of their products are handmade  with organic ingredients.  It’s a high quality line of products.

As with all their beard oils, the unscented or “commando” (tee hee) beard oil is listed as vegan friendly, which I like because I don’t want any cow oil in my hair products.  It’s also listed as non-comedegenic, which means comedians can’t use it.  Wait, what?  Oh, sorry, it means that it won’t block pores.  The bottle size is 1 ounce and comes with an eye dropper.  The eye dropper may seem like a novelty but when you buy a 1 oz bottle of oil and watch the oil go down the drain because you’re trying to measure it into your palm you’ll learn to love it.  In fact I have a couple of backup eye droppers in the cabinet for this very thing.

Unscented is, as you’d expect, not scented.  It still smells of the oils but no additional scents to worry about putting right under your nose.  It’s a very mild earthy scent, probably the sesame oil, and won’t keep you up if you use it at night.  I use it every other day before bed.  I find about 4 drops or so is more than enough to handle my ‘tache and van dyke.  I leave it in overnight and wash it out in the morning shower.  Please remember to wash it out before you try to wax your moustache.  Oily moustaches don’t hold their shape very well.  That is the saggy moustache of experience talking.

Gandalf used beard oil and so should you

Gandalf used beard oil and so should you

I’ve found my beard and moustache to be considerably softer, more manageable and having a nice shine since I’ve been using oil on them.  What this means for some of us is that you’ll no longer be scratching the hell out of your partners face when you’re getting some sugar.  It also relieves the scratchiness you might personally experience from your beard.  I also like how the shine really makes the grey in my hair (most of it) sparkle.

If you have a beard you need beard oil.  I didn’t think I needed it either but I was wrong.  It keeps your hair healthy, soft and looking its best.  Brooklyn Grooming has a fun selection of different scents and each scent has a story behind.  I recommend going to their site and reading the philosophies.  Here, I’ll get you started with a link for Red Hook.  Follow that.

You can get Brooklyn Grooming Commando Beard Oil on the Brooklyn Grooming site and at thestache.com

Disclosure: I am not associated with Brooklyn Grooming, Charles Bukowski or any of the products or web pages mentioned in this article.  The 1 oz. bottle of Commando Beard Oil I used to write this article was purchased by myself directly from Brooklyn Grooming.

Leave a Reply

