Uppercut Deluxe Pomade

Back to Pomades!  Man, I spend a lot of time putting stuff into my hair…

I think my last few reviews have been a little rambley so I’m going to try and adhere to a template model to keep myself on track.  At least that’s the goal.

KerPOW!

KerPOW!

Uppercut Deluxe Pomade from Uppercut Deluxe.  Now there are the two things you need to know about Uppercut Deluxe.  They’re based in Australia, which is awesome, and if you’re in Australia you have a place that will offer you free shipping.  The other thing you need to know is that Luke Newman, one of the creators, is related to an old timey boxer and that was the inspiration for the name and tin design.  Luke can also probably knock your head clean off with his genetic powers of punching.  The other creator is Steve Purcell, not the Sam & Max Steve Purcell.  I don’t know if Steve fisticuffs but I’m gonna play it safe and not anger him either.

The packaging, while not as cool as being able to decapitate people with the power of your powerful punch power, is the coolest packaging you can, and should, get.  A metal pseudo screw top on a 3.5 oz. metal tin.  Emblazoned on the tin is…KAPOW…a counter left to the body.  Not an uppercut as expected but still pretty cool.  Those boxers have some pretty slick hair.  This is no sticker either, this is printed on the lid.  Black, red and silver.  Love it.

Opening it up you see a brownish translucent gel stuff.  It’ll probably have some craters from where the air bubbles surfaced.  Sticking your nose in the tin, and I know you guys are always sticking your noses in tins, you’ll get a coconuty whiff.  It reminded me a lot of suntan lotion actually.  This is great for me because I live for the summer and the scent took me right to the beach.  Scooping out a finger full shows it’s a little softer than Layrite and Suavecito but did have the same sort of build up on the finger that they do.

This is where Uppercut Deluxe Pomade takes me.

Now think coconuts.

Rubbing it between your palms is pretty easy.  Uppercut Deluxe Pomade is recommended for dry hair and so the softness of the product is good.  I found it very easy to get it through my hair dry.  It styled up great and kept a fair bit of shine for going in dry. My part was easily defined, the sides slicked back tight.  I don’t sport a pomp…but I do like to get some lift in the front and this worked a treat.  Like most water based pomades you really want to work it around for a while to get good distribution before you style.  The smell is still yummy coconuty.  I am ready for a week on the beach at this point.  It seemed like I used a fair bit less than I use of other products to get the style I wanted.

The hold was great through the day.  If you caked this stuff on with a lot of water it’ll dry hard but if you used a smallish amount and worked it into, at most, towel dry hair you’ll have no problem restyling through the day.  If you do get some hardening you can use a wet comb to re-activate the pomade.  I have recommended against doing this before but  Uppercut Deluxe seemed to handle reactivating better than the other water based products, retaking the style and holding again.  I was surprised.  Normally my sides will pop out (wings!) or I’ll get some streaking after I reactivate but not here.  Color me happy.

End of the day, Uppercut Pomade Deluxe is a great water based pomade.  Goes in easy, styles up great and washes out.  The yummy scent takes me to a happy place and I dig the cool tin that would make people jealous if I ever invited people into my bathroom.  You might have a little trouble deciding between this and Layrite because they both fall into the ‘fun scent’ area.  I found Uppercut Deluxe Pomade to be less sensitive to the amount of water in my hair, my hair could be wetter without it drying hard and I needed less pomade to get the style I liked.

You can get Uppercut Deluxe Pomade from Uppercut Deluxe in Australia or pomades.com and thegreashop.com.  I recommend it and, even if it’s not your cup of tea, the scent is great and will take you on an impromptu beach vacation.

Disclosure: I am not associated with Uppercut Deluxe, Layrite or any of the products or web pages mentioned in this article.  The 3.5 oz. tin of Uppercut Deluxe Pomade I used to write this article was generously sent to me by Uppercut Deluxe after a mix-up with one of their other products.

One comment on “Uppercut Deluxe Pomade

  1. […] Uppercut Deluxe Mo Wax is a moustache that was developed by Uppercut Deluxe to celebrate Movember.  Movember is essentially Moustache May in November and vice versa.  Why you need a special month to sport the greatest of all things sportable is beyond me.  You probably know Uppercut Deluxe for its selection of hair products.  You can read my thoughts on their pomade here. […]

Leave a Reply

